Introduction to Unblock Writer’s Block

“Writer’s block is a phony, made up, BS excuse for not doing your work.” – Jerry Seinfeld

*     *     *     *     *

Introduction to Unblock Writer’s Block: How to face it, deal with it and overcome it 
 http://www.paullima.com/books/wb.html

There is no such thing as writer’s block. How do I know? I know that there is no such thing as writer’s block because I have a dog.
If you are feeling a tad quizzical right now, please stick with me.

As a writer, I live a sedentary life. I don’t jog, lift weights or workout. Basically, I don’t exercise. I do try to walk thirty minutes a day. Notice the word try. I am a fair weather walker. I walk when the weather is pleasant, not when it rains, sleets, hails or snows, or when it’s too hot or too cold. If the weather is not fair, I have what might be described as walker’s block.

Then my wife got a dog, a Giant Schnauzer named Kohl. We don’t have a fenced in backyard and Kohl has to be walked twice a day. My wife walks him in the morning; I walk him in the afternoon. No matter the weather, I’ve walked my dog every afternoon for the last twelve years. In short, we have a dog and I no longer have walker’s block.

The same principle applies to writer’s block. You might think you have writer’s block. What you lack is the writer’s equivalent of a dog.
I am not playing down what one feels when one wants to write and can’t write. In addition, I am not dismissing severe bouts of depression or anxiety that may inflict some writers (or anyone pursuing any art, craft or profession). But in the vast majority of cases, most of us who want to write are able to write—if we have a dog, or the writer’s equivalent. This book is filled with dogs—writing exercises that will get you started and keep you writing.

With that in mind, welcome to Unblock Writer’s Block. I hope the book helps you kick-start your writing and overcome whatever it is that may be keeping you feeling blocked.

Thanks to Heather Wright (http://wrightwriter.com), freelance writer and author of the book Writing Fiction: A Hands-On Guide for Teens (http://wrightingwords.wordpress.com) for proofreading this book. She did an excellent job. Any typos you may see are all mine, made after the fact!

Paul Lima

Read more about Unblock Writer’s Block online: http://www.paullima.com/books/wb.html

Leave a Reply

