SEO in non-fiction book titles can boost sales

[ Excerpt from Produce, Price and Promote Your Self-Published Fiction or Non-fiction Book and eBook http://www.paullima.com/books ] 

I can’t believe how well How to Write a Non-fiction Book in 60 Days and several other of my books on writing and freelance writing continue to sell on Amazon, in the US and the UK, as print and Kindle books. I don’t do a lot of promotion, other than using some social media (more on that later in the book). The books are selling in numbers greater than my promotional efforts merit. It took me a while to figure out why, but it makes so much sense.

When I first started to self-publish, I did not use a distributor that got my books into Amazon. I worked on optimizing my website so the book titles would show up in Google searches. People could then click through to my site and buy the book from me or Lulu (the POD company that I was using). Since I found a POD printer/distributor (in my case, Lightning Source; you can now do this with Lulu and Create Space and several other POD companies) that gets my books into Amazon and other online book retailers, book sales have spiked exponentially.

Here’s why. If I want a book on a certain topic, but didn’t know the title of a book, I might search Google. But let’s face it, I’d be more inclined to search Amazon (or Chapters.Indigo in Canada) and read about the books that were returned in the search results on the online retailer’s website. I suspect 70% of my print online bookstore sales, and even more of my Kindle and e-Pub sales, are the direct result of searches conducted in Amazon and Chapters.

With that in mind, when you title (and subtitle) your non-fiction book, make sure you use words and phrases that relate to what your book is about. For instance, in my case, you will find ‘non-fiction’ in 60 Days, ‘creative writing’ in (re)Discover the Joy of Creative Writing, ‘copywriting’ in Copywriting that Works and ‘freelance writing’ in my three freelance writing books.

Using keywords in your title and subtitle can pay off if you are selling your books though online retailers like Amazon and Chapters.Indigo. At least that’s been my experience. So before you title and subtitle your book, think about your target market and the words and phrases that they might type into a search engine, especially a search engine on an online book retailer’s website, if looking for a book on the topic that you cover. Make sure you use at least the primary keywords in your title and subtitle that the potential reader would use in a search. And, of course, you want to use them in a way that appeals to your TM. In other words, the title should make sense, not just be jammed with keywords. This no-cost marketing task can generate scores of book sales. And, in large part, selling your book is why you wrote it in the first place, no?

[Excerpt from Produce, Price and Promote Your Self-Published Fiction or Non-fiction Book and eBook http://www.paullima.com/books%5D 

Leave a Reply

